FOOTBALL: Clapham Dominate The Soil Schools Cup


The inaugural schools tournament The Soil Schools Cup hosted by St Stithians featuring 4 Gauteng-based high schools came to a close yesterday when Clapham High School showed their dominance to win the tournament.

 SA Champions Clapham High School close the tournament by beating the hosts Stithians College 4-0  whilst earlier Curro Linbro Park were too strong for  Yashiva College and won 3-1. Former Bafana Bafana captain could select his final Tournament Team XI made up of 3 schools but dominated by the champions.

  “I am extremely encouraged by the showing of the boys over the last 3 days, while Clapham showed dominance they were challenged in some areas of the pitch which is why some players from St Stithians and Curro made the Team Of The Tournament. I wish to see more schools next year and hope the feedback we give the coaches are taken to heart to help the boys improve. I know we will see some of the boys in junior national teams soon”. said Mbazo.

 Tournament Director Lucky Maduna was elated by the turn of events and the success of the inaugural tournament “This was a great start of The Soil Schools Cup 2022 and we would like to thank the schools that joined our event in such a short notice and acknowledge the other school who committed to join next year. We thank St Stithians for being the great hosts and partners with all the logistics organised, also to Danone, Sneaker Shack, McDonalds Victory Park, DSTV for product sponsorship and our media partners SA Schools Sports and Supersport Schools App to ensure all interested fans get to see and know about the updates daily. We look forward to having the same schools next year and also wish Clapham High School all the luck as they venture into the African continent to represent South Africa in the CAF Pan-African Schools Championships”.



Clapham High School 3 3 0 0 12 2 10 9
St Stithians College 3 2 0 1 6 5 1 6
Curro Linbro Park 3 1 0 2 6 6 0 3
Yashiva College 3 0 0 3 1 12 -11 0


The Team Of The Tournament:

 GK: Lehlohonolo Mohlabine (Clapham)

Defenders: Kutlwano Mputhi (Clapham), Keegan Le Roux (St Stithians), Lusanda Buthelezi (Clapham)

Midfielders: Vuyani Mxhalisa (Clapham), Mbuso Mthobeni (Clapham), Omolemo Dladla (St Stithians), Relebohile Molosiane (Clapham), Bokgobane Mangole (St Stithians)

Strikers: Mahlatsi Mankgane (Clapham), Olwethu Shongwe (Curro)