Cricket: St David’s Marist Fasken Time Cricket Festival – Day 2 Wrap up

st davids fasken festival

The first round of two-day games at the St David’s Fasken Time cricket festival delivered three results and three draws.

One of the victories came before lunch – Waterkloof beat Jeppe by an innings and 20 runs at St Stithians. Jeppe were rolled for just 122 in their first innings to which Waterkloof replied with 312/9. Jeppe made more of a fist in it in their second knock, led by Jaydon Brooker who made 91, but they fell short of making Waterkloof bat again.

The two games on the bottom fields at St David’s went down to the wire. St John’s beat Clifton by 158 runs after setting them a target of 296. The boys from Durban lost wickets regularly before closing up shop and they looked like they might salvage a draw, but St John’s bowlers Christopher King and Christopher Ford wrapped up the tail, with just two overs to spare and the darkness setting in.

On the main oval, the St David;s skipper set Paul Roos Gimnasium a target of 264, which looked like it might be enough, but PRG batsmen Josh Jordaan (116 not out) and Cormey Van der Wat (129 not out) were quite superb, and they chased it down, again with just two overs to go.

The batsman once again dominated the proceedings, There were four hundreds scored in the afternoon, to go with the three notched up in the morning.

st davids fasken festivalst davids fasken festival

Boago Giaraelwe of St David’s returned the best bowling figures – 7/86 against Paul Roos, while King and Ford got 4/16 and 3/23 for St John’s to secure the victory over Clifton.

There were some big hundreds once again. Ruben du Toit of St Stithians made 146 against the Lions XI and Josh Taylor replied with 174 for the invitation team in the same game and Connor Nel got 179 for St Andrew’s against Noordheuwel. But King Edward’s Michael Holmes topped them all with 181 against Maritzburg College.

The other centures were by Khuandre Pretorius (106 for Saints vs Lions); Josh Jordaan (116 not out for Paul Roos) and Cormey Van der Watt (129 not out in the same game).

Summarised Scores

Lions XI vs St Stithians

Lions 1st inns 171 (Meyer 92 not out). St Stithians 1st inns 307/9 (Du Toit 146, Tailor 5/16). Lions 2nd inns 389/8 (Taylor 174). St Stithians 2nd inns 248/4 (Pretorius 106, Gazide 72, Du Toit 40).

Match drawn.

Waterkloof vs Jeppe

Jeppe 1st inns 122 (Volschenk 3/16). Waterkloof 1st inns 312/9 (Van der Berg 96, Burger 35). Jeppe 2nd inns 177 (Brooker 91; Luus 3/27).

Waterkloof won by an innings and 20 runs.

St Andrew’s vs Noordheuwel

St Andrew’s 1st inns 116 (Botha 4/28). Noordheuwel 1st inns 332/8 (Strauss 122 not out). St Andrew’s 2nd inns 325/8 (Nel 179, Sobiech 32 not out).

Match drawn

Maritzburg College vs KES

Maritzburg College 1st inns 264/5 (Van Zyl 91). KES 1st inns 350/5 (Holmes 181). Maritzburg College 2nd inns 288 (Jacobs 89, Quin 70 not out; Ritchie 3/61). KES 2nd inns 43/3.

Match drawn.

Clifton vs St John’s

St John’s 1st inns 238/5 (Chalmers 104, King 100 not out). Clifton 1st inns 226/7 (Mc Elligott 74). St John’s 2nd inns 184/4 (Grose 66 not out). Clifton 2nd inns 138 (King 4/16, Ford 3/23).

St John’s won by 158 runs.

St David’s vs Paul Roos Gimnasium

St David’s 1st inns 320/4 (Gamsy 105). Paul Roos 1st inns 279 (Goaraelwe 7/86). St David’s 2nd inns 222/5 (Jacobs 78 not out). Paul Roos 2nd inns 265/1 (Jordaan 116 not out, Cormey Van der Wat 129 not out).

Paul Roos won by 9 wickets.


Purple hat recipients for Day 2

  1. St Andrew’s Connor Nel
  2. Waterkloof – Tristan Luus
  3. Jeppe – Jaydon Brooker
  4. Lions invitation – Josh Taylor
  5. Cormey van der Wat – Paul Roos
  6. Noordheuwel – Corné Botha
  7. Saint Stithians : Lhuan-dre Pretorius
  8. St David’s – Boago Gaoraelwe
  9. St John’s – Christopher King
  10. Clifton – Joseph Rey
  11. KES – Michael Holmes
  12. Maritzburg – Pieter Jacobs