SA School Sports


Last updateTue, 04 Dec 2018 12pm

   Join our newsletter here:      
Back You are here: Home Sports Waterpolo Other Water Polo: Durban Girls College Dominates Old Petrian’s Water Polo Tournament
Friday, 26 February 2016 09:46

Water Polo: Durban Girls College Dominates Old Petrian’s Water Polo Tournament

Written by  Chesnay Havenga

Last weekend,St Peter’s College hosted the 12th annual Old Petrian’s water polo tournament from 19 February – 21 February 2016 for open girls. Twenty eight schools across the country and one from Zimbabwe participated in the prestigious event at the Wahoo Aquatics centre and St Peter’s Girls Prep’s pool. Water polo is a highly competitive sport, and it was pleasing to see so many schools encouraging their girls to excel in the game.

The support for the game is growing and incredible talent was on display at the tournament.

The tournament launched with the traditional welcome dinner for the 360 players, coaches and managers at the College on Thursday night. Guest speaker, Lee Den Hond, gave an inspirational presentation about her journey to summiting Mount Everest.

The teams were divided into four pools containing seven teams each. The three days were tough for all the players involved, with sturdy competition amongst the teams competing for the Shield, Plate, Bowl, Fairplay and Cup trophies. St Mary’s Waverley, Westerford, Durban Girls and St Stithianscompeted for the Cup trophy in the semi-finals onthe final day. The tense final was between Durban Girls and St Stithianswith a final score of 2 - 1.   Durban Girls Collegeemerged as the champions at the 2016 prestigious tournamentthat ended in a deserved 1st place.

It was a very successful2016 Old Petrians water polo tournament, with high standard of water polo being displayed by all the players. The close outcome of the matches played is a clear indication of the high level of competiveness.


Trophy Winners  

Shield Trophy – Pretoria High School for Girls

Bowl Trophy – Reddam House Constantia

Plate Trophy – Kingswood

Fairplay Trophy – Thomas More

Cup Trophy – Durban Girls College

Best Goal Keeper – Emma Herbert – Durban Girls College

Best Defender – Bianca Prinsloo – St Stithians

Best Forward – Georgia Moir – Springfield



Quarter Finals:

Rand Park 1 - Wynberg 2; Somerset 0 - Pretoria 4; Herschel 2 - Thomas More 0; Fourways4 - Parktown2.


Quarter finals:

Clarendon 7 - Kingsmead 1; St Dominic’s 4 - St Anne’s 1; DSG 3 - Rustenburg 2; Reddam 4 - Chisipite 0

Quarter Finals:

St Mary’s Waverley5 - Springfield 3; Stirling 1 - Durban Girls 4; St Peters College 2 - St Stithians College 6; Westerford 7 - Pearson 5.


SF1: Wynberg 0 - Herschel 6;

SF2: Pretoria 5 - Fourways 2


SF1: Crawford 2 - Kingswood 3;

SF2:Roedean 2 - Collegiate -0


SF1 Clarendon 5 - DSG 6;

SF2 St Dominic’s 2 - Reddam 7


SF1: Westerford 3 – 4 St Stithians College;

SF2: Durban Girls 3 – 2 St Mary’s Waverley


Herschel 2 - Pretoria 3


Kingswood 3 - Roedean 2


DSG 2 - Reddam 7


Durban Girls 2 –St Stithians College 1

Tournament Team:  

1. Emma Herbert - Durban Girls College

2. Georgie Moir - Springfield

3. Sasha De la Rey - St Mary's

4. Ayanda Maphumulo - Durban Girls College

5. Kayla Hill - Durban Girls College

6. Emma Joubert - Westerford

7. Bianca Prinsloo - St Stithians College

8. Christine Abrahamse - Westerford

9. Caitlyn Parker - Westerford

10. Hannah Muller - Stirling

11. Hannah Werth - Pearson

12. Jessica Penney - St Peter's College

13. Ashley Meyer – Kingswood


Related items